How to get prepared?

Support and promotion by the Government – Waste reduction and recycling
Premised on the “polluter-pays” principle, MSW charging is part and parcel of the waste management strategy to drive for behavioural change in waste generation and hence reduce overall waste disposal. The Government has adopted a multi-pronged approach to support waste reduction and recycling.

Starting from the Financial Year (FY) 2019-20, the Environmental Protection Department (EPD) has allocated additional recurrent resources to fund various waste reduction and recycling initiatives.

Examples:
(a) the setting up of Green Outreach under the EPD to provide on-site assistance to the community;
(b) regularization of funding support for Recycling Stores and expansion of community recycling network to 18 districts;
(c) the launching of various pilot schemes of collection service on recyclables such as waste plastics from non-commercial and non-industrial sources and food waste from all sources; and
(d) implementation of a pilot scheme to assess the effectiveness of applying reverse vending machines in promoting the recycling of plastic beverage containers.

The provision will be further increased to no less than $800-1,000 million from the FY when MSW charging is to be implemented. The amount of this provision will be commensurate with the estimated gross revenue to be generated from MSW charging in the initial period so as to achieve the effect of “dedicated-fund-for-dedicated-use”.

Please visit Waste Reduction Website for more details.

Support and promotion by the Government - Publicity and education
We are stepping up publicity and public education to promote community participation in reducing waste. The Government will publicise the messages of “Dump Less Save More” through different platforms to enhance community understanding and participation. Details of the publicity and public education projects are as follows:

Big Waster Image
“Dump Less Save More” and “Reduce and Recycle 2.0” publicity campaign

Apart from the overall publicity and public education activities, there will be educational messages targeting different sectors (such as young people, students, frontline staff and domestic helpers).

Separately, the “Reduce and Recycle 2.0” Campaign was launched in June 2020. A new tagline “Save More Recycle More” is used and a new character, “Greeny”, is partnering with Big Waster to provide the latest information about waste reduction and recycling to the public. Please click here to learn more.

Big Waster Image
Community Involvement Projects

Environment and Conservation Fund (ECF) will continue to fund more Community Involvement Projects to allow the public to try out MSW charging in actual settings and get prepared for MSW charging.

Big Waster Image
Partnership collaboration

Collaborate with different stakeholders, including the Environmental Campaign Committee, villages, green groups and schools etc., to encourage the public to reduce waste and let them have a better understanding of MSW charging.

Big Waster Image
Provision of on-site support

EPD has set up Green Outreach to provide outreaching service. The Green Outreach aims at helping the public get used to proper waste reduction and recycling, educating the public through on-site guidance and hands-on demonstration regularly on a long-term basis, and delivering the latest messages on waste management to the community.

The Green Outreach strives to establish and maintain a direct and effective liaison network with various stakeholders and support the waste separation and clean recycling work.

Big Waster Image
Best Practice Guides

EPD will draw up “Best Practice Guides” for different sectors with reference to the experience of Community Involvement Projects and Trial Projects on MSW charging. The public may refer to the guidelines of their sectors (e.g. residents, property management companies (PMCs), commercial and industrial sectors, etc.) for the points to note and good practices for implementing MSW charging.

Big Waster Image
Briefings and workshops

EPD will continue to organise briefings and workshops to help the trades and the public to understand the importance of waste reduction and recycling and MSW charging arrangements, and to explain the content and requirements of the ordinance, in order to facilitate different sectors to cope with and implement MSW charging.

Preparation by the public

Public should understand the proposed implementation arrangements of MSW charging and get prepared.

In support of community participation in the waste reduction campaign, the Government has implemented a number of measures to support and encourage the public to reduce waste at source and recycle properly. For relevant details, please visit the related website. Owners’ Corporations (OCs) and PMCs can make reference to EPD’s “Best Practice Guides” in future to learn more about the charging arrangements of the premises, to help frontline staff and residents to get prepared for waste charging, and to coordinate relevant stakeholders. EPD will also continue to organise briefings and workshops to enable OCs and PMCs to learn more about MSW charging and points to note.

如何准备?

政府的支援与推广 - 减废回收
建基于污染者自付原则,垃圾收费是废物管理策略的重要一环,有助推动各界改变产生废物的行为,从而减少整体废物弃置量。政府已采取多管齐下的做法,以支持减废回收。

环境保护署(环保署)由2019/20财政年度起,已增拨额外恒常资源用于推动不同的减废及回收措施。

例子包括∶
(a) 在环保署设立绿展队,为市民提供在地协助;
(b) 为回收便利点提供常规化拨款及扩展社区回收网络至全港18区;
(c) 推行多项回收物收集服务先导计划,例如非工商业废塑胶及各界别厨余;及
(d) 推行应用逆向自动售货机先导计划以评估其推动回收废塑胶饮料容器的成效。

由都市固体废物收费实施的财政年度起,拨款将会进一步增加至不少于8至10亿元。这项拨款的数额与估算的都市固体废物初期收费总收入相若,以达致「专款专用」的效果。

想了解更多,请浏览香港减废网站

政府的支援与推广 - 宣传教育
我们正进一步加强宣传及公众教育,推动全民减废。政府会透过不同平台宣传「少扔点 多省点」的讯息,加强市民的认知和参与。宣传及公众教育项目详情如下:

Big Waster Image
「揼少啲 悭多啲」与「减废回收2.0」宣传活动

除推行主题宣传及公众教育活动外,并针对不同界别 (例如年轻人丶学生丶前线工作人员和家庭佣工) 制定切合的教育讯息。

此外,在2020年6月展开的「减废回收2.0」宣传运动中,「大嘥鬼」伙拍新拍档「悭BB」,带出新标语「悭多啲 点止三色咁简单」背后的减废回收知识。如欲了解更多,请点击此处

Big Waster Image
社区参与项目

环境及自然保育基金会资助更多社区参与项目,让市民亲身体验都市固体废物收费,为实施收费作好准备。

Big Waster Image
伙伴协作

加大力度与不同持份者协作,包括环境运动委员会丶乡村丶绿色团体及学校等,鼓励市民减废和加强对都市固体废物收费的了解。

Big Waster Image
提供在地支援

环保署已设立绿展队提供外展服务以协助公众妥善减废回收。绿展队会恒常造访社区,亲身示范分类回收,给予指引和教育公众,并为居民提供最新的废物管理资讯。绿展队会致力建立一个有效的网络,与各持分者保持联系,鼓励他们作源头分类及干净回收。

Big Waster Image
「良好作业指引」

环保署会参考社区参与项目在实际环境试行废物收费的经验,为不同界别制订「良好作业指引」。市民和社会各界可以按所属界别(例如居民丶物业管理界别及工商界别等)浏览指引,参考推行收费计划的注意事项及良好作业方法等。

Big Waster Image
简介会及工作坊

环保署将继续举行简介会及专题工作坊,协助业界及市民了解减废回收的重要性和都市固体废物收费的安排,并介绍条例草案的内容及要求,以协助各界适应及顺利推行收费计划。

市民和各界的准备
市民和各界应了解草拟中的都市固体废物收费的具体安排,及早作好准备。

为响应全民减废运动,政府已推出多项措施,支援及鼓励市民加强实践源头减废,做好回收。有关资讯详情可浏览相关网站。 而业主立案法团及物业管理公司(物管公司)可以参考环保署将来推出的「良好作业指引」,了解有关物业的收费安排丶协助前线员工及居民为收费作好准备及协调相关持份者。环保署亦会继续举办简介会及工作坊,让业主立案法团及物管公司进一步了解都市固体废物收费的安排及注意事项。