Charging by “designated garbage bags”
Price at $0.11 per litre
  • ⦁ Applicable to most residential buildings, commercial and industrial buildings, village houses, street level shops and institutions.
  • ⦁ Three scenarios: (i) waste collected by the refuse collection vehicles (RCVs) of the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (FEHD) or its contractors; (ii) waste collected by private waste collectors using RCVs with rear compactors; and (iii) waste disposed of at the FEHD Refuse Collection Points (RCPs) would be charged through “designated garbage bags”. Citizens have to purchase and use pre-paid “designated garbage bags” to wrap their waste properly before disposal.
  • ⦁ $0.11 per litre
  • ⦁ Nine sizes, with t-shirt (3L-20L) and flat-top (3L-100L) designs
    ⦁ For oversized waste collected by FEHD or its contractors, or by private waste collectors using RCVs with rear compactors, or disposed of at FEHD RCPs, each oversized waste should be affixed with a “designated label”. The price of “designated labels” will be set at a uniform rate of $11 each.
    ⦁ Oversized waste collected by private waste collectors using RCVs without rear compactors will be charged through gate-fee at landfills or refuse transfer stations (see the Section on Charging by “weight through gate-fee” below). Under this arrangement, “designated label” is not applicable.
    ⦁ Both “designated garbage bags” and “designated labels” will have anti-counterfeit features.
Charging by “weight through gate-fee”
Charging by 'weight through gate-fee'
  • ⦁ A gate-fee will be charged for waste collected by private waste collectors using waste collection vehicles without rear compactors which are disposed of at landfills or refuse transfer stations. It is mainly applicable to oversized waste or waste which is irregular in shape generated from commercial and industrial premises.
  • ⦁ Four urban refuse transfer stations and the North West New Territories Refuse Transfer Station: $395/tonne
  • ⦁ Other refuse transfer stations and landfills: $365/tonne
How to purchase “designated garbage bags” or “designated labels”?
“Designated garbage bags” and “designated labels” will be sold at some 4,000 authorized sales points, including supermarkets, convenience stores, post offices and vending machines, etc. Online sale of “designated garbage bags” and “designated labels” will also be provided.
Compliance assistance
Proposed enforcement arrangements

Proposed enforcement arrangements

Frontline cleansing staff will refuse to collect non-compliant waste at waste reception points (i.e. refuse collection vehicles and refuse collection points). Enforcement officers of the FEHD and EPD will, with reference to the intelligence and complaints received, draw up a list of black spots and conduct surveillance and enforcement actions at different premises, waste collection points and black spots.

After a preparatory period of around 12 to 18 months, a “phasing-in period” will be put in place after the implementation of MSW charging. Warnings will be given to non-compliant cases during “phasing-in period” but enforcement actions would be taken in case the nature and magnitude of the offence calls for enforcement, e.g. if the offender repeatedly contravenes the law despite warnings given. Strict enforcement actions would be taken on a risk-based approach after the “phasing-in period”.

Penalty:

Fixed Penalty Notice - $1,500 each

Prosecution by way of summons

First conviction - A maximum fine of $25,000 and imprisonment for six months

Subsequent conviction - A maximum fine of $50,000 and imprisonment for six months

Assistance to those in need

Assistance to those in need

The Government will provide a subsidy of $10 per person per month for all recipients of the Comprehensive Social Security Assistance Scheme and Higher Old Age Living Allowance to support their additional expenditure on MSW charging.

「按袋」 收費
Price at $0.11 per litre
  • ⦁ 適用於大部份住宅樓宇及工商業樓宇 、村屋、地舖及機構處所。
  • ⦁ 三種情況: (i)廢物由食物環境衞生署(食環署) 或其承辦商的垃圾車收集;(ii)廢物由私營廢物收集商的壓縮型垃圾車收集;及(iii)自行/由收集廢物的員工將廢物送往食環署的垃圾收集站棄置,都將會使用「按袋」收費。市民須先購買預繳式「指定垃圾袋」,包妥廢物方可棄置。
  • ⦁ 收費為每公升 $0.11
  • ⦁ 一般9種容量、背心 (3公升 - 20公升) 及平口設計 (3公升 - 100公升)
    ⦁ 至於未能放進「指定垃圾袋」的大型廢物,如果使用食環署或其承辦商的服務,或經私營廢物收集商使用壓縮型垃圾車收集, 或自己/由收集廢物的員工送往食環署的垃圾收集站棄置,每件大型廢物需要貼上「指定標籤」,每個標籤劃一收費$11。
    ⦁ 如果大型廢物經私營廢物收集商使用非壓縮型垃圾車收集,需於堆填區或廢物轉運站按重量以入閘費形式付費(請參閱以下“「按重量」收入閘費” 頁面)。在這安排下,「指定標籤」並不適用。
    ⦁ 「指定垃圾袋」及「指定標籤」皆會備有防偽特徵。
「按重量」 收入閘費
Charging by 'weight through gate-fee'
  • ⦁ 由私營廢物收集商使用非壓縮型垃圾車收集的廢物,將會按棄置於堆填區或廢物轉運站的廢物重量,徵收入閘費。主要適用於工商業處所棄置的大型或形狀不規則的廢物。
  • ⦁ 四個市區/新界西北廢物轉運站: $395/公噸
  • ⦁ 其他廢物轉運站及堆填區: $365/公噸
如何購買「指定垃圾袋」或「指定標籤」?
「指定垃圾袋」及「指定標籤」可以在約4,000個獲授權的銷售點購買,包括超級市場、便利店、郵局和自動售賣機等。另外,「指定垃圾袋」及「指定標籤」亦可透過獲授權的網上平台購買。
協助遵規
Proposed enforcement arrangements

建議的執法安排

前線清潔人員會在廢物收集點(即垃圾車及垃圾站) ,拒收不符合要求的廢物。食環署及環境保護署執法人員亦會在廢物收集點及大廈各樓層的廢物收集點,根據情報和舉報,制訂違規廢物黑點的名單,採取針對性的執法行動。

在約12至18個月的「準備期」後,廢物收費正式實施後的初期為「適應期」,我們主要會對違例個案發出警告,但仍會對性質及程度嚴重的違例行為(例如違例者在獲發警告後仍屢次違法)採取執法行動。在「適應期」後,我們會以風險為本模式採取嚴厲執法行動。

罰則:

定額罰款通知書 — 每張$1,500

如以傳票檢控:

首次定罪 — 最高罰款$25,000及監禁6個月;

再次定罪 — 最高罰款$50,000及監禁6個月。

Assistance to those in need

為有需要人士提供援助

所有綜合社會保障援助計劃及高額長者生活津貼的受助人每人可獲政府提供每月$10的津貼,以支援他們有關都市固體廢物收費的額外開支。