FAQ

Q&A on the Amendment Bill of MSW Charging

A1: On the basis of majority support revealed in the public consultation related to MSW charging completed in 2012, the Government affirmed the direction of introducing a quantity-based MSW charging system. Based on the recommendations put forward by the Council for Sustainable Development subsequent to a public engagement process completed in 2014, the proposed implementation arrangements for MSW charging were formulated. We have been inviting opinions from the public and various sectors on this policy and relevant implementation arrangements in order to build a consensus. On 14 November 2018, the relevant Amendment Bill has been introduced into the Legislative Council for scrutiny.

A2: The applicable charging mode depends on the waste collection arrangement of the premises. Waste collected by the refuse collection vehicles (RCVs) of FEHD or its contractors; or collected by private waste collectors using RCVs with rear compactors; or waste disposed of at the FEHD Refuse Collection Points (RCPs) would be charged through "designated garbage bags". Waste collected by private waste collectors using waste vehicles without rear compactors would be charged based on the weight of waste disposed of at landfills or refuse transfer stations (i.e. gate-fee). For details, please refer to How to pay.

The Government will step up publicity and education before and after the implementation of the charging scheme so that property management companies (PMCs) and stakeholders can better understand the charging arrangements and get prepared for their implementation.

A3: We plan to set up over 4000 sales points (e.g. supermarkets, convenience stores, post offices, personal care products stores, gas stations, etc.), to be supplemented by vending machines, to facilitate the public and different stakeholders to buy "designated garbage bags".

A4: Each "designated garbage bag" comes with an anti-counterfeit label. Citizens should purchase "designated garbage bags" from authorised sales points or vending machines.

A5: If the waste cannot be properly wrapped into a "designated garbage bag", it should be affixed with an "oversized waste label" . The price of "oversized waste labels" is set at a uniform rate of $11 each. "Oversized waste label" can be purchased at over 4000 sales points (e.g. supermarkets, convenience stores, post offices, personal care products stores, gas stations, etc.). Public can also purchase "oversized waste labels" at vending machines.

The above "oversized waste label" arrangement is not applicable to waste collected by private waste collectors, which would be charged based on its weight (i.e. gate-fee). For details, please refer to How to pay

A6: According to the current proposal, individual households should wrap their waste properly in "designated garbage bags" before putting them at the building's temporary waste collection / storage areas. Depending on the need of individual premises, PMCs may use transparent garbage bags for waste collection to ensure that all the waste inside is wrapped into "designated garbage bags". PMCs are not required to use "designated garbage bags" to collect waste from individual households. Nevertheless, for waste collected by FEHD; or by private waste collectors using RCVs with rear compactors; or waste disposed of at the FEHD's RCPs, the PMCs should ensure that the waste being disposed of at the RCVs or RCPs has been properly wrapped in "designated garbage bags".

A7: Waste should be wrapped into "designated garbage bags" in order to meet the proposed legal requirements, irrespective of the floors or locations at which the waste is disposed of. Enforcement officers will conduct inspections and take enforcement actions based on complaints received and at black spots identified.

A8: For the small litter containers placed in the public areas of buildings, the use of "designated garbage bags" is not required. Nevertheless, cleansing workers should use "designated garbage bags" when collecting the waste and putting the waste onto RCVs.

A9: To reduce expenditures on MSW charging, the primary way is to reduce waste at source. Besides, practising clean recycling and allowing resources to be reused through different recycling channels can also reduce waste disposal effectively.

A10: We should practise clean recycling of paper, plastic and metal waste through different recycling bins, such as those placed in housing estates or near RCPs. For more information about clean recycling and waste reduction, please visit the related website.

A11: Regarding the roadside recycling bins, the Government provides collection service through contractors, and would, through contractual terms, ensure the contractors recycle the recyclables properly or pass them to appropriate recyclers for handling. In addition, private waste collectors disposing of waste at landfills will be subject to waste charges (gate-fee or purchasing designated garbage bags to wrap the waste) upon implementation of the charging scheme. Therefore, there will be more incentives for private waste collectors to handle and recycle the recyclables collected properly.

A12: To demonstrate the Government's determination to promote waste reduction and recycling and to complement the implementation of MSW charging, the Government is ready to provide recurrent resources to strengthen the work on waste reduction and recycling. The Government will provide an additional provision of around $300-400 million for the 2019-20 financial year to start with, which would be further increased to no less than $800-1,000 million from the financial year when the MSW charging is to be implemented to adhere to the 'dedicated-fund-for-dedicated-use' principle. .

Such waste reduction and recycling work includes the setting up of outreaching teams to provide on-site assistance to the community, thereby putting waste reduction and recycling and MSW charging into practice; provision of free territory-wide collection service in respect of waste plastics from non-commercial and industrial (C&I) sources and food waste from all sources in the longer run subject to the experiences gained from the pilot schemes on non-C&I waste plastics and C&I food waste and the progress of developing food waste recovery centres in Hong Kong; and implementation of a pilot scheme to assess the effectiveness of applying reverse vending machines in recycling plastic beverage containers.

x
| | Eng
<
大嘥鬼 big waster

Wong Kam Sing

常见问题

有关都市固体废物收费条例草案的问与答

答1: 政府在 2012 年完成了有关都市固体废物收费的公众谘询,获得广泛支持,确立引入都市固体废物按量收费的方向,其後按照可持续发展委员会在2014年完成公众参与过程後提出的建议,制订了都市固体废物收费的拟议落实安排。过去一段时间,我们已就这项政策及相关的落实安排谘询市民和业界,凝聚共识。政府已於2018年11月14日把相关草拟条例提交立法会审议。

答2: 收费模式取决於有关处所的废物收集安排。如废物由食环署的垃圾车收集,或由私营废物收集商的压缩型垃圾车收集,或送往食环署的垃圾收集站弃置,将来都会使用「按袋」收费。若废物由私营废物收集商的非压缩型垃圾车收集,将会按重量收「入闸费」,详情可参考如何收费页面

政府会在都市固体废物收费实施前後加强宣传教育,让物管公司及相关持份者进一步了解收费模式的安排,以便大家及早作好準备。

答3: 我们计划在全港设置约4000个销售点 (如超级市场、便利店、邮局、个人护理产品店、油站等),并将设有自动售卖机,方便市民及相关持分者购买「指定垃圾袋」。

答4: 每个指定垃圾袋均附有防伪标签。市民应到获授权的销售点或自动售卖机购买「指定垃圾袋」。

答5: 体积较大而不能以「指定垃圾袋」包妥的废物,应在弃置前贴上「大型废物标签」,每个$11,划一收费。「大型废物标签」可於超过4 000个销售点购买(如超级市场、便利店、邮局、个人护理产品店、油站等),市民亦可於自动售卖机购买「大型废物标签」。

以上「大型废物标签」安排并不适用於透过私营废物收集商所收集的废物,这些废物需按废物重量缴付「入闸费」。详情可参考如何收费页面

答6: 按现时的建议,住户把废物弃置於大厦临时收集/存放垃圾的地方前,需先使用「指定垃圾袋」把废物包好。物管公司可视乎个别大厦的需要,另行使用透明垃圾袋收集已使用「指定垃圾袋」包妥的废物,以方便确保透明袋内全是「指定垃圾袋」。就物管公司而言,他们并无责任使用「指定垃圾袋」来收集各住户的垃圾。不过,如废物由食环署的垃圾车收集,或由私营废物收集商的压缩型垃圾车收集,或送往食环署的垃圾收集站弃置,这些废物都需使用「指定垃圾袋」包好。

答7: 无论在任何楼层或地点弃置废物,均须符合建议的法例要求,以「指定垃圾袋」包妥。法例生效後,执法人员会按废物黑点或投诉,安排巡查及采取执法行动。

答8: 在各楼宇公共地方的小型废物收集箱弃置废物,并不需要用「指定垃圾袋」,但清洁人员收集废物摆放上废物收集车时就需要使用「指定垃圾袋」。

答9: 要减少都市固体废物收费的支出,源头减废是首要方法,另外,实践乾净回收,把可回收的废物透过各种合适的渠道让资源循环,亦可有效减废。

答10: 可以透过各类的回收箱,例如在屋苑提供或放於各垃圾站附近的回收箱,按乾净回收的方法回收纸张、塑胶和金属等废物。更多有关乾净回收及减废的信息,可浏览相关网站

答11: 路边回收箱方面,政府透过委任承办商提供有关收集及回收服务,会透过合约条款确保承办商妥善将回收物循环,并进行定期巡查和突击检查,以监察承办商收集回收箱内的可循环再造物料的工作表现。 另外,在都市固体废物收费实施後,回收商如将回收物丢弃至堆填区,均需缴交入闸费,因此,回收商会有更大的诱因将回收物妥善处理及回收。

答12: 为了显示政府对加强推动减废回收的决心以及配合收费的落实,政府建议提供恒常资源加强减废和回收工作。政府会在2019/20财政年度先增拨约3至4亿元,并且在实施收费的财政年度起,将增加拨款至不少於8至10亿元。这项每年拨款的数额与都市固体废物收费预算所得总收入相若,达至「专款专用」的效果。

相关的减废和回收工作包括设立外展队,为市民提供在地协助,以实践减废、回收和落实都市固体废物收费;推出先导计划为非工商业废塑胶及工商业厨馀提供免费收集服务,并视乎先导计划的经验及香港发展厨馀处理回收中心的进程,将免费收集服务扩展至全港非工商业废塑胶及各界别厨馀;以及推行逆向自动售货机先导计划以评估其推动回收废塑胶饮料容器的成效。

x
| | Eng
<
大嘥鬼 big waster

Wong Kam Sing